How do I Market a Collection of Short Stories?

Eighteen months ago I decided to expand my writing horizon and learn how to write short stories for no other reason, than to see if I could. Playing around with voice and structure, I was inspired by lots of different things around me and let my imagination run wild on the page.

Some of my stories were leveraged from real events which I suppose many writers do. I read somewhere that writers should write what they know. Historical fiction for me is not necessarily what I know but what Iโ€™ve found out. My short stories on the other hand are closer to what I know or have observed.

Now that I have a collection of short stories what do I do with them? One of my stories has been published in the Monash Writers Group Anthology while another was short listed in the Lane Cove Literary Awards.

Iโ€™ve published one novel so why not publish a collection of short stories. The process is similar. It needs an editor, a snappy book cover, an ISBN, formatting etc.

But the marketing is quite different. My novel fell neatly into an historical fiction niche. Where does a collection of short stories fall? Who reviews short stories? Who areย my readers? How do I get a readership in amongst all the books that are published daily?

If anyone has successfully marketed a short story collection, I would love to hear from you. In the meantime, I’m getting read to publish and take the leap into another new round of learning.

17 thoughts on “How do I Market a Collection of Short Stories?

  1. kathycecala April 12, 2017 / 11:09 pm

    Are you planning to self-publish or find a traditional publisher? Short story collections can be hard to market either way, but it can be done; I think that niche is becoming more popular among readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • S.C Karakaltsas April 13, 2017 / 8:28 am

      I’m going to self publish. But I’m happy to experiment and see what works.

      Like

  2. Peter Lingard April 13, 2017 / 8:10 am

    I wish you success.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Val Mills April 13, 2017 / 11:02 am

    I’ll look forward to seeing any replies and advice here. I can’t help you sorry, but I am interested in learning more.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Barbara April 16, 2017 / 8:08 am

    I think short stories are hard to market but I love that you are doing it. You will help create that market like we all do with our books, (well some better than other lol). I look forward to you sharing the process.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ashutoshrg April 20, 2017 / 9:59 pm

    That’s inspiring to know, since I started writing short stories only a few months ago. It’ll be of much help to me too, if I get to know about publishers and the audience etc. For short stories. Great job. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Day's Lee April 25, 2017 / 9:17 am

    I published a short story collection with Smashwords because the publishers I queried said short story collections are hard to sell. Even though sales have not been great, it was a good learning experience. Have you entered any in contests?

    Liked by 1 person

    • S.C Karakaltsas April 25, 2017 / 9:21 am

      Yes I have and one of my stories was shortlisted. I agree that it will be an interesting learning experience. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. S.C Karakaltsas May 4, 2017 / 8:20 am

    Thanks. From what I gather it’s not so popular. But it will be a learning process. Good luck with yours.

    Like

  8. S.C Karakaltsas May 4, 2017 / 8:23 am

    And thank you for being my 200th follower ๐Ÿ˜€๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ’

    Like

Leave a Reply

